Leave a comment

Veggie Sushi, My first time

Tonight I was going to make my easy-to-make favorite, veggie hand rolls. And I got crazy-wild with an idea to make a cut roll. I happened to have a bamboo rolling mat in my drawer, and it came together really easily.

Try it, it’s fun – AND YUMMY!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

– nori wraps
– 1 cup brown basmati rice
– 1/2 lemon
– 1 avacado
– 1/4 bunch of kale
– 1/4 bunch of cilantro
– salt
– bamboo roller
– (optional) 1/2 tblsn Ghee, or butter
– flat wooden sticky-rice spreader.

 

Cook the basmati rice…I’m not going to explain that – because if you don’t know how to cook rice, I can’t help you, LOL. But I will give you a little secret to making it for the sushi. Add little extra water in the pot to begin (only about a few tablsn’s). Put in a little butter or ghee in when it starts to boil, mix it in with a little salt. The point is for it to be a teeny tiny bit more moist than regular rice.

While the rice is cooking, let make my favorite kale concoction: wash and cut the kale up into little bits, I like it small for this dinner. Saute the kale in some olive oil for a few minutes until it’s soft. put it in a bowl, add lemon and cut Cilantro to the bowl, and little salt (dash).When the rice is done, add a couple of dashes of salt, stir and let sit for 5 min with lid back on it.

Now, the fun part. Make a hand roll by placing rice, veggies and avocado into center, and use your hands to roll from  corner to corner, tucking in the end as you roll.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To make the cut rolls: Place the nori sheet down on the bamboo mat (should be about the same size), add a couple of scoops of rice. Press the rice down with a flat wooden spoon or fingers to the edge of the sheet, covering the whole thing.
Close to the center line, put some kale concoction down the line, and add tow strips of avocado into center line. Using the bamboo roller, press the one side up and over the veggies with both hands firmly on the bamboo mat. Keep rolling to the other side. Unroll the bamboo, and voila! Sushi roll.

Now cut it into pieces and serve.

Serves two healthy ladies.

Leave a comment