2 Comments

Sick and tired, and Ayurveda to the rescue

Woke up this morning with a sore throat, and a bit of a fever. Natural remedies were stirring in my head, what should I do to take action? My brain was a bit foggy, so wasn’t sure what to do. It’s usually the case when we get sick. It’s as though all the things I “know to do” go away with the snot pouring out of my nose…

Luckily I have some knowledge about Ayurveda and other wellness practices, perfect for occasions like this. I started taking drinking water with lemon juice squeezed in, and made some soupy kitchadi – which is a staple food when practicing Ayurveda, because it’s a detox dish; easy to digest, and high in protein (mung bean and rice porridge type of food). My mom and dad used to feed me this slop (as I thought of it back then) when I was sick.

Here’s what I made this morning:

1/2 cup of whole mung beans (soaked for 1 hour in clean water)
1/2 cup of white basmati rice – cleaned 3 times with tap water
6 cups water
1 Tbsp ghee*
1/2 tsp cumin seeds
2 Tbsp ghee
1/4 tsp each ground turmeric, coriander, cardamom, black pepper and sea salt
1/2 tsp each cumin and ground cloves
1 Tbsp fresh grated ginger
chopped fresh cilantro
Braggs to garnish (optional)

In a large saucepan, heat 1 Tbsp ghee and add cumin seeds. Brown lightly, then add the rice and mung beans, stirring to coat. Add water, bring to a boil, cover and simmer for 45 minutes.
In a small fry pan, heat 2 Tbsp ghee and add all dry spices. Saute a few minutes, then stir in ginger. Allow to combine a few minutes, then add to rice and mung. Cover and cook 20 minutes longer.
Serve garnished with cilantro and a splash of Braggs, maybe even a squirt of lemon.

This amount makes me enough for a whole day, possibly two.

*NOTE: ghee is an ayurvedic dairy fat that is healing and soothing for digestion and good for all doshas (body types/imbalances).
And, mung beans can be found in bulk foods department in Wholefoods types stores and indian grocery stores….

I love having this anytime I need a rest from my addiction to “regular food”. It’s easy, has a good amount of protein (mung beans), and is super nourishing.

I feel better already and am going to fast on this, and add some greens on the side, for the rest of the day!

Yummy Ayurveda!

2 comments on “Sick and tired, and Ayurveda to the rescue

  1. In the directions, you mention adding garlic and onion, but I don’t see that listed in the ingredient list…how much?

    • HI Krista, I’m sorry about the confusion…I had two of my own recipes I was working with, and this one doesn’t have onions and garlic in it. I took the direction out. For a really soupy kitchady, you want it to be mild in spices and you can add more ginger if you feel…Hope that helps, Enjoy! Hemalayaa

Leave a comment